Snorri Gunnarsson | Photo Blog

rants | thoughts | opinions | mind

Ideas – Time laps

leave a comment »

I’ve been in an experimental phase in the last days and one of the things I have tried is tethered timed shooting. I attached a 5D to an iMac with a USB cable and used Canon Eos Utility to control the camera. You can set the intervals and how many images to be taken total. Actually you can also control the aperture, shutterspeed, ISO, WB, kind of file and the exposure metering.
For my shot I chose a flower in a vase, dying. I shot it during 5 days with 10 minute intervals. It is lit with two lights, a softbox above and an umbrella in front 45 degrees to the left.
After all the photography was done I assembled the movie in Adobe Flash, flash even imports the images in a right order, each on its own keyframe. Pretty handy for this kind of work.

Written by snorrigunnarsson

November 13, 2008 at 7:18 pm

Leave a comment